Today's Paper Obits Sports Coronavirus Updates Time Tour Artist Loft Classifieds Jobs HER Crime Puzzles Contact us Newsletters

Jacobus named Scholar-Athlete of the Year for the third time

by Staff Reports | July 28, 2018 at 4:00 a.m.

FAYETTEVILLE -- Arkansas junior and All-American Lexi Jacobus was named a 2018 Scholar-Athlete of the Year by the United States Track and Field and Cross Country Coaches Association, while the Razorbacks had 16 Individual All-Academic honorees and the women's track and field team received All-Academic honors.

The Arkansas men's track and field team had 14 Individual All-Academic honorees and also received All-Academic honors.

The USTFCCCA released its list of individual and team award winners this week for the 2018 track and field seasons.

Jacobus headlined Arkansas' scholarly roster, which featured 16 individual All-Academic award winners. She is a three-time national champion in the pole vault, including this indoor season, and maintains a 4.0 grade point average as a chemistry student.

It was Jacobus' second-career indoor Scholar Field-Athlete of the Year recognition, joining Sandi Morris in 2015 as the only other Razorbacks to receive the accolade. Jacobus is also the only Arkansas student-athlete to sweep the award through both seasons, accomplishing the feat back in 2016.

Jacobus in Biochemistry, Tori Hoggard also in Biochemistry and Taylor Werner in Kinesiology all maintained a GPA of 4.0 while balancing their training and competition schedules. A total of 874 women earned USTFCCCA All-Academic honors.

To qualify as an All-Academic individual, student-athletes must complete the academic year with a GPA of at least 3.25 and have finished the indoor regular season ranked nationally among the top 96 individually or top 48 in relay events or have participated in any round of the NCAA Division I Outdoor Championships.

Other members of the team to be received Individual All-Academic honors were Jada Baylark, Kinesiology; Taliyah Brooks, Communications; Janeek Brown, Chemistry; Payton Chadwick, Kinesiology; Devin Clark, Kinesiology; Morgan Hartsell, Industrial Engineering; Nikki Hiltz, Criminal Justice/Sociology; Regan Hime, Physics/Geophysics; Tamara Kuykendall, Educational Studies; Rachel Nichwitz, Kinesiology; Elizabeth Ramos-Mata, Journalism; Maddy Reed, Architectural Studies; and Carina Viljoen, Business.

Arkansas had the third-best GPA of the 10 All-Academic Teams in the Southeastern Conference at 3.47. Vanderbilt's team maintained a 3.56 GPA and Alabama had a 3.53.

The men's team held a 3.18 GPA, third-best out of eight SEC men's team to earn All-Academic Team honors. South Carolina led the SEC teams with a 3.33 GPA and Florida had a 3.19.

Arkansas ranked No. 11 in the Power Five conferences. Stanford and Duke led the Power Five honorees at 3.44 and 3.38.

A total teams were honored for their academics by the USTFCCCA. The honorees included 220 women's teams and 141 men's programs.

Quartermiler John Winn headlined Arkansas' selections with the highest GPA on the men's squad, managing to attain a 3.96 GPA. He was one of 624 men across Division I track and field to earn USTFCCCA All-Academic honors.

Arkansas ranked second in the Power Five conferences with 14 Individual All-Academic honorees. Brigham Young had 21.

Other All-Academic honorees for the men's team were Kenzo Cotton, Kinesiology: Exercise Science; Austen Dalquist, Management & Marketing; Roy Ejiakuekwu, Economics; Cameron Griffith, Kinesiology: Exercise Science; Derek Jacobus, Recreation & Sport Management; Sam Kempka, Chemical Engineering; Ethan Moehn, Public Health; Gabe Moore, Biomedical Engineering; Ryan Murphy, Kinesiology: Exercise Science; Chase Pareti, Computer Science; Alex Springer, Supply Chain Management; Jamarco Stephen, Information Systems; and Hunter Woodhall, Pre-Business.

Sports on 07/28/2018

Print Headline: Jacobus named Scholar-Athlete of the Year for the third time


Sponsor Content