Today's Paper Obits Mugshots Sports Classifieds Jobs Weather Latest HER Contact us Subscribe to our newsletters

Including four students from the Arkansas School for Mathematics, Sciences, and the Arts, 81 students statewide were recently named candidates for the 2019 United States Presidential Scholars program, which is considered one of the nation's highest honors for high school students.

The 2019 candidates for the U.S. Presidential Scholars program from ASMSA are Sonya Chiewtrakoon, of Waldron, Able Hill, of Benton, Noah Raby, of Newport, and Rachel Stall, of Clarksville.

"ASMSA candidates for the U.S. Presidential Scholars program are not only exemplary leaders within the classroom but also dynamic members across our community of learning," said ASMSA Director Corey Alderdice.

"These young people excel in scholarly research, global engagement, artistry and entrepreneurship. They are a clear indicator that the future of our state is exceedingly bright," he said.

Out of 4,000 candidates, about 800 students will be named semifinalists after the next round of reviews, and up to 161 students will be recognized in May as Presidential Scholars based on academic achievement, artistic scholarship, and accomplishment in career and technical education fields.

If a student is selected as a U.S. Presidential Scholar, they will be honored in Washington, D.C., in June. During this trip, U.S. Presidential Scholars are guests of the U.S. Department of Education and the Commission and enjoy an expenses-paid trip to Washington, D.C., to meet with government officials, educators and other accomplished people.

School on 03/24/2019

Print Headline: ASMSA students named Presidential Scholar candidates

Sponsor Content


comments powered by Disqus