Today's Paper Sports Obits Coronavirus Updates Time Tour Artist Loft Tablet Help HER Classifieds Jobs Crime Puzzles Contact us Newsletters

(video) Special election muddles March ballot

by David Showers | November 16, 2019 at 3:00 a.m.
From left, Ralph Edds and Elmer Beard, members of the Garland County Election Commission, watch Friday as state representative District 22 candidate Richard McGrew draws for his ballot position at the Garland County Election Commission Building. - Photo by Richard Rasmussen of The Sentinel-Record

The Republican ballot for House District 22 voters in the party's March 3 primary will have two elections for the same office, an oddity the Garland County Election Commission said could cause confusion.

The House's expulsion of Mickey Gates from the District 22 seat last month led the governor to call for a March 3 special election for the final year of Gates' third term. The Legislature scheduled the 2020 preferential primaries and nonpartisan general election for the same day.

Republicans Jack Wells and Richard McGrew will vie for their party's nomination in a Dec. 10 primary. The winner will advance to face Libertarian Judy Bowers in the March 3 special election. Wells, McGrew and Richard Alvin Midkiff will also be on the ballot in the Republican Primary, with the winner qualifying for the Nov. 3 general election against Bowers.

"Whoever wins will be on the March ballot twice," Election Commission Chairman Gene Haley, referring to the winner of the Dec. 10 primary, said at Friday's ballot draw for the Dec. 10 primary, March primaries, nonpartisan general election and school board election.

Haley said ballot position for the March 3 special election will be drawn Dec. 18.

Early voting for the Dec. 10 primary will be Dec. 3-6 and Dec. 9 from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. at the Community Baptist Church, 3518 Highway 7 north. Election day voting will be from 7:30 a.m. to 7:30 p.m. at Community Baptist Church, the Garland County Office of Emergency Management, 401 Mid America blvd., Fountain Lake School, 4207 Park Ave., Unitarian Universalist Church, 403 Barcelona Road, and Lonsdale City Hall, 521 Cockrill St.

All five locations are in District 22, which comprises east Garland and north Saline counties and Hot Springs Village.

The 18 candidate race for U.S. president will be the only partisan contest listed on Democratic ballots in the party's March 3 primary. Republican ballots will have six contested partisan races. Both ballots will have five contested nonpartisan races, including three local judicial races and one each for the state Supreme Court and Court of Appeals.

Haley said the five elections being held March 3 will require 75 different ballot styles. The election commission has until Jan. 16 to deliver absentee ballots to the county clerk's office, according to the secretary of state's election calendar. Early voting begins Feb. 18., and the registration deadline is Feb. 3.

Registered Garland County voters who are interested in being poll workers can call the election commission at 622-3622. Training for current poll workers is scheduled for Tuesday.

The election commission drew from a bag of 24 numbered Ping-Pong balls to determine ballot position. The following are the contested races with the candidates' names listed as they will appear on the ballot:

Dec. 10 Special Election State Representative District 22 Republican Primary

Jack Wells

Justice of the Peace Richard McGrew

Democratic Primary

U.S. President

Marianne Williamson

Joe Sestak

Cory Booker

Amy Klobuchar

Tom Steyer

Kamala Harris

Andrew Yang

Tulsi Gabbard

Michael R. Bloomberg

Bernie Sanders

Joseph R. Biden

Pete Buttigieg

Elizabeth Warren

Michael Bennet

Mosie Boyd

Steve Bullock

Julian Castro

John K. Delaney

Republican Primary

U.S. President

Bill Weld

Donald J. Trump

Roque "Rocky" De La Fuente

State Senate District 13

Jeff Crow

Senator Alan Clark

State Representative District 21

Jim Reynolds

Representative Marcus Richmond

State Representative District 22

Justice of the Peace Richard McGrew

Jack Wells

Richard Alvin Midkiff

State Representative District 26

Rick McClure

Lorna Nobles

Constable Hot Springs Township

Jim Kerr

Constable Scott Hecke

Nonpartisan General Election

State Supreme Court Associate Justice Position 4

Barbara Womack Webb

Judge Morgan "Chip" Welch

Court of Appeals Associate Judge District 4, Position 2

Prosecuting Attorney Stephanie Potter Barrett

Judge Emily White

Garland County Circuit Judge Division 1

Judge Ralph Ohm

Shane Ethridge

Garland County Circuit Judge Division 2

Judge Wade Naramore

Brian Johnson

Cecelia Dyer

State District Court 41, Position 2

Judge Meredith Switzer

Mark Steven Fraiser

School Board Election

Lakeside School Board Position 4

Cory Cangelosi

Carla Mouton

Brian French

Jonathan Burfeind

Local on 11/16/2019

Print Headline: Special election muddles March ballot


Sponsor Content


Recommended for you