Today's Paper Obits Mugshots Sports Coronavirus Updates Time Tour Classifieds Jobs HER Magazine Crime Contact us Newsletters
story.lead_photo.caption Hot Springs Chapter 80 members who attended the 124th Annual Convention were Honorary Division President Martha Koon, seated, left, and Honorary Associate Member Ozella Willingham, seated, right, along with Honorary Associate Member Barbara Erdmann, standing, left, and past Chapter President Margie Hill. - Submitted photo

Hot Springs Chapter UDC receives awards

The Arkansas Division United Daughters of the Confederacy recently met in west Little Rock for its 124th Annual Convention, and Hot Springs Chapter 80 received a total of 24 certificates for outstanding work.

The chapter received five certificates for Historic Preservation activities, Observances, and Flag Report. For their support of the military, they received two certificates for items donated to the DAV and best report from the VAVS Committee. Four certificates were awarded for their Public Relations and Publicity. Three certificates were received for their Benevolences, which included the donation of items and money to charities. Five certificates were awarded for support of Southern Art and Literature, as a result of many hours archiving and cataloging books donated to libraries.

Ozella Willingham's creative endeavor of preserving activities in the chapter scrapbook resulted in winning $10 and a certificate for Best Chapter Scrapbook for members 26-39. Barbara Erdmann's hard work in publishing the chapter yearbook also received a $10 award and certificate for Best Chapter Yearbook from the division historian, a news release said.

Society on 10/20/2019

Print Headline: Items of interest

Sponsor Content


COMMENTS - It looks like you're using Internet Explorer, which isn't compatible with our commenting system. You can join the discussion by using another browser, like Firefox or Google Chrome.
It looks like you're using Microsoft Edge. Our commenting system is more compatible with Firefox and Google Chrome.