Today's Paper Newsletters Cooking Obits LEARNS Guide Classifieds Podcasts Tablet Help Sports Jobs Contact us Puzzles Public Notices

NAACP awards scholarships to local students

September 17, 2023 at 4:03 a.m.
From left are Ann Hill, Brentenn Johnson, Jelana Griffith, Marsalis Weatherspoon, and Linda Franklin. - Submitted photo

The NAACP of Hot Springs, Unit 6013, recently awarded two scholarships to local high school graduates.

Jelana Griffith graduated from Hot Springs World Class High School in 2023 and is attending the University of Central Arkansas at Conway.

Brentenn Johnson graduated from Jessieville High School and is attending Southern Arkansas University at Magnolia.

"The scholarship awards support the NAACP mission to secure educational equality and ensure the health and well-being of all persons," a news release said.

The unit meets the second Saturday of every month at 2 p.m. at the Webb Community Center, 127 Pleasant St.

Print Headline: NAACP awards scholarships to local students


Sponsor Content